Loading…
BW

Beth Weinstein

Beth Weinstein is an architect whose scholarship and design practice focus on intersections between architectural and choreographic and other performance practices, ranging from the scale of the drawing board to scenographic environments, theater architecture, urban space and landscapes. Working within the severe climate and landscape of the Sonoran Desert, Weinstein’s work also connects to the utopian and environmental lineage of the American Southwest, exploring land art, water issues, and the systems that link these to the making of human scaled environments. Recent projects include SHUTTLE: mobile desert laboratory, exploring aesthetic, political, cultural and environmental resonances of desert ecologies; and with her students, Occupy Public Space - an intervention in Tucson’s transit center communicating information about water issues through spatial, material, thermal and graphic means. She co-edited Ground|Water: the Art, Design and Science of a Dry River, and contributed chapters to Architecture as A Performing Art and The Disappearing Stage: Reflections on the 2011 Prague Quadrennial. She has taught at Pratt, Parsons, Columbia, the École Spéciale d’Architecture, and is Associate Professor and Master of Architecture Program Chair at the University of Arizona, teaching design studios, environmental principles and building enclosure technology, and directs projects and seminars linking architecture and performance.

My Speakers Sessions

Thursday, March 19
 

7:00pm

 
Friday, March 20
 

7:00pm

 
Saturday, March 21
 

7:00pm

 
Sunday, March 22
 

7:00pm

 
Tuesday, March 24
 

7:00pm

 
Wednesday, March 25
 

7:00pm

 
Thursday, March 26
 

7:00pm

 
Friday, March 27
 

7:00pm

 
Saturday, March 28
 

10:30am

7:00pm

 
Sunday, March 29
 

7:00pm

 

My Moderators Sessions

Sunday, March 29
 

9:00am